DoD Directive 8570.01-M

CompTIA Certifications meet Department of Defense (DoD) 8570.01-M requirements

The US Department of Defense established DoD 8570 for Information Assurance training and certification. DoD 8570 requires that all employees who perform Information Assurance functions have the requisite, certifiable knowledge and skills to competently perform their job roles.

Government agencies and contractors that currently employ CompTIA certified professionals include:

  • U.S. Department of Defense – all components
  • U.S. Intelligence Community Agencies
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S Department of Justice
  • U.S Department of State
  • Most other U.S. federal government agencies

The following CompTIA certifications have been approved as Information Assurance baseline qualifications:

Full details of the approved baseline certifications can be found at